Mary Lou Nelson receives 2010 Hawkinson Peace and Justice Award

(November 5, 2010) — Kenwood Retirement Community resident Mary Lou Nelson was a recipient of the 2010 Honorary Award of The Vincent L. Hawkinson Foundation for Peace and Justice, presented on November 5 as part of a special intergenerational event co-sponsored by the Hawkinson Foundation and the Minnesota Alliance of Peacemakers. The award is made annually by the Minneapolis foundation to individuals or couples who have devoted their lives to promoting peace and justice.

A long-time Minneapolis resident, Nelson has worked steadfastly for global peace through her leadership in the United Nations Association over many years. She chaired national conferences, created dialogue processes with various constituencies, spoke to many groups, raised money and produced videos, among her many contributions.  Active in the AAUW and many other organizations, she helped found the   Minnesota Alliance of Peacemakers in 1995 and continues to serve as a delegate to the MAP council.

Also receiving 2010 Honorary Awards were Rev. James Siefkes and Carol and Ken Masters of Minneapolis and Rev. Verlyn Smith of St. Paul.  The awards were presented at Bringing Generations Together: Creating a Culture of Peace held at Centennial Methodist Church in Roseville.

The Foundation was established in 1988 to honor the late Rev. Vincent L. Hawkinson, who served 30 years as pastor of Grace University Lutheran Church. The Foundation also awards annual Hawkinson Scholarships to students demonstrating a commitment to peace and justice. Since 1988, more than $118,000 has been given to 95 students.


Media Contact: Anne Q. Ulseth
AQUA Public Relations
612-824-1614 office
612-272-0588 mobile
[email protected]